Wintrust Arena, DePaul to host 2019 NCAA women’s basketball regional


Wintrust Arena will be one of four regional sites for the 2019 NCAA women’s basketball tournament, the NCAA announced on Tuesday.

DePaul will be the host-serving institution, which will mark the first time they’ve hosted an NCAA tournament game since 2012, when Allstate Arena served as the host site for first and second round games. Allstate Arena also hosted the regional in 1996, as well as the 2005 regional for the men.

The four regional sites for 2019 are Albany, N.Y. (Times Union Center), Chicago (Wintrust Arena), Greensboro, N.C. (Greensboro Coliseum) and Portland, Ore. (Moda Center).

The regional will consist of three games: two Sweet Sixteen games and one Elite Eight game, with the winner going to the Final Four.

Wintrust Arena, which is slated to open in Fall 2017, will seat 10,000 people. It will be the home for all DePaul men’s basketball home games and select women’s basketball games.