DePaul adds new Board of Trustees members


Courtesy of DePaul University/Jeff Carrion

A composite image of the new board members provided by DePaul.

DePaul University’s Board of Trustees will bring aboard six newly elected members, including Gery Chico, a former candidate for mayor of Chicago, according to a university press release. The new board members come from a variety of professional backgrounds, ranging from corporate banking and investment to education.

Along with Chico, the board welcomes Wintrust Financial Corp. executive Timothy S. Crane, Apple systems architect John Kerr, Sacred Heart Schools’ admissions specialist Claire O’ Grady, Felician University (New Jersey) president Anne Prisco and Financial Investment Corporation president and CEO Jennifer W. Steans.

“These trustees’ valuable expertise and insight, at both the national and local level, continue a long tradition of bringing exceptional leadership to our governing board,” said DePaul President A. Gabriel Esteban, Ph.D. “I appreciate their service and dedication to our university.”

Crane joined Wintrust — the banking firm that bought the $22 million naming rights for DePaul’s new basketball arena in the South Loop — back in 2008. Prior to joining Wintrust he served as the president and head of Retail Banking of Harris Bank in Chicago for 24 years. In 2016, he was also given named Wintrust treasurer, according to the company’s website.   

“DePaul’s board is gaining the knowledge and expertise of six exceptional leaders who are committed to our mission and our long term success,” said Jim Ryan, chair of the board of trustees. “I’m thrilled they are joining our team and look forward to working with them.”