Gala honors Theatre School alumni

The Chicago theatre scene both at DePaul and the Chicagoland area is stealing the spotlight of American theatre.

The Theatre School’s 2013 Awards for Excellence in the Arts gala was held April 22 at the Four Seasons Hotel.

Michael Cohen, a first year theatre management major who worked as a costumed raffle worker wanted to see the fundraising side of theatre.

“I enjoyed the atmosphere and I was happy to work,” said Cohen. “It was a new thing and it’s something that I will be doing in my life – fundraising and galas, and it was a good lesson on how it comes together.”

Sarah McElroy, also a theatre management major, served as the assistant to Leslie Shook, Theatre manager and silent auction chair.

“(It’s) so special because it serves as a reminder of how many people there are in the Chicago community that believe in what The Theatre School is teaching and fostering,” said McElroy. “People really go above and beyond financially to help contribute to the means for young theatre artists to build and create something amazing.” 

Among the honored were The Theatre School alumna Stana Katic, star of ABC’s “Castle” and alumnus Paul Miller, a Broadway lighting designer.

Also among the recipients of the Award for Excellence in the Arts were Amy Morton, a Steppenwolf ensemble member and S. Epatha Merkerson, an Emmy and Golden Globe Award winning actress recently seen in “Lincoln.”

Amy Morton who recently acted in the revival of Edward Albee’s 1962 drama “Who’s Afraid of Virginia Woolf?” was just nominated for a Tony Award for her role in the show that was born at Steppenwolf in 2010. The show later moved to Broadway in 2012 with its original Chicago cast.