DePaul student media wins 7 regional awards from the Society of Professional Journalists

DePaul student media won seven regional Mark of Excellence awards from the Society of Professional Journalists today. The DePaulia was awarded best all-around non-daily newspaper in the region, which includes Illinois, Indiana and Kentucky.

 Good Day DePaul was also honored with several awards, including best TV general news reporting and best TV in-depth reporting.


Best all-around non-daily student newspaper: The DePaulia
Best online sports reporting: Matt Paras, Kirsten Onsgard, Mariah Woelfel, “More than a decade of drought: An oral history of the 2003-04 Blue Demons”
Best TV general news reporting: Hannah Hoffman and Ashley Holden, Chicago mayoral election
Best TV in-depth reporting: Jaclyn Driscoll, artificial turf
Best breaking-news photography: Geoff Stellfox, Laquan McDonald prayer vigil
Best sports photography: Josh Leff, DePaul bench mob
Best feature writing: Kirsten Onsgard, “Composing the future”


Online feature writing: Rachel Hinton and Shelley Mesch, “I was raped”
Online news reporting: Brenden Moore, Matt Paras, Mariah Woelfel, Megan Deppen, Dean Koocher coverage
TV general news reporting: Chloe Atkins, “Julia Neary”
TV sports reporting: Sarah Gorden, “Tyler Graham”
Editorial writing: The DePaulia editorial board
In-depth reporting: Brenden Moore, Coverage of Dean Gerald Koocher